by niederegger

I must say I was quite impressed with the opening ceremony of the Olympics. To tell you the truth, I wasn’t looking forward to it that much, as I had heard rumors circulating around London that it wasn’t going to be that amazing – obviously, they were just trying to fool me!

The opening ceremony really gave me an insight into British culture and its heritage, and I have to say it was quite spectacular. From the image of the fresh, green countryside and the farming to the sudden change to the industrial revolution and the suffragettes, the NHS and now the social media generation.

I thought one of the most impressive part of the ceremony, was during the industrial revolution where it looked like they were carving the Olympic rings and then they rose into the air… I was in awe!

I also shed a few tears, when the Olympic torch was passed from your most successful Olympian to the next, young Olympians – I thought was a beautiful way of lighting that magnificent cauldron.

Unfortunately, I was unable to get tickets to any of the Olympic games including the opening ceremony – but I managed to find a beautiful roof terrace where I watch the red arrows fly over my head at exactly 20:12, and was able to see the fireworks in the distance. I heard a lot of British people say, ‘Well we have now managed to master the art of firework displays since the Millennium disaster.’ It left me wondering how bad your firework display was back in 2000?

Well I am continuing to watch the Olympics on the television and I am totally hooked. The problem is, I love this country so much and yet I am from Germany – I don’t know who to support???

Lots and lots of love,

Miss Marzipan xxx

 

